Return to Headlines

3 SV seniors are finalists for 2020 NMS Program

Seneca Valley seniors Nishant Jayachandran, Olivia Schultheis and Sean Scott, have been named finalists in the 65th Annual National Merit Scholarship Program held by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC).NMS 2020

These seniors are three of approximately 15,000 finalists and will now advance to the next level of the program where they will have the opportunity to earn a National Merit Scholarship and, ultimately, the Merit Scholar® title.

NMSC, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 420 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC’s goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.

About 1.5 million juniors in more than 21,000 high schools entered the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2018 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen of program entrants.

Pictured above: Seneca Valley National Merit Finalists (L-R) Sean Scott, Olivia Schultheis and Nishant Jayachandran.